< Retour

Contactez nous

Nos spécialistes des voyages de plongée sont là 24h/24 7j/7 pour vous aider à planifier et réserver de superbes vacances de plongée sous-marine

Plongée au Îles de la baie, honduras – roatan et utila

Niché au cœur de l'Amérique centrale, le Honduras regorge de beautés naturelles et de sites de plongée incroyables. Il y a des forêts tropicales humides à visiter, des rivières à radeau et des plages de sable blanc sur lesquelles se prélasser.

Plongée au Îles de la baie, honduras – roatan et utila

En bref

Les îles Bay sont nichées dans le coin sud-ouest des Caraïbes, à environ 48 km au nord du Honduras. Les systèmes de récifs exceptionnels attirent des plongeurs du monde entier et les îles sont devenues une véritable ruche d'activité de plongée. Faisant partie de la deuxième plus grande barrière de corail au monde, la barrière de corail mésoaméricaine, les îles de Roatan et d'Utila, en particulier, abrite un corail vibrant, un poisson tropical multicolore, des éponges aussi grosses que des réfrigérateurs et des espèces pélagiques. Vous pourriez voir des raies manta, des tortues de mer et, surtout de la mi-février à avril, des requins-baleines. Les récifs sont plus diversifiés que les forêts tropicales.Chaque île offre des expériences différentes au-dessus et en dessous de l'eau. L'île de Roatan est un site de pèlerinage pour les plongeurs qui visitent l'Amérique centrale. Mary's Place est largement reconnue comme un site de plongée favori de la région, avec ses canyons étroits et sa faune abondante. Le corail noir et les énormes vagues se cachent dans les crevasses sans fin. Une autre excellente plongée est l'épave El Aguila, un cargo qui a été coulé pour que les plongeurs puissent l'explorer. Les coraux ornent l’énorme navire et abritent une multitude de vie marine magnifique et colorée.Utila est plus décontractée et est une destination bien connue des routards qui souhaitent devenir des professionnels de la plongée.plongée est bon marché et facile à trouver sur la côte caraïbe du Honduras. Obtenir vos certifications ici est une excellente idée. Non seulement vous serez certifié dans l'un des plus beaux endroits du monde, mais vous n'aurez pas à casser votre tirelire dans le processus!

Formation et entraînement recommandés

Prenez le PADI Deep Diver et PADI Wreck Diver cours de plongée sur les murs et les épaves profondes des îles de la baie. Le cours PADI Enriched Air Diver est également un bon choix car l’air enrichi au nitrox est disponible dans les îles. Des plongées techniques sont également disponibles. Consultez PADI TecRec, y compris le cours PADI Rebreather Diver , si vous êtes intéressé.

Quand y aller

La plongée est excellente toute l'année et le climat tropical chaud est la norme. La température varie peu d'un hiver à l'autre, la température moyenne étant de 29 ° C / 85 ° F. L'humidité est généralement élevée, en particulier de mai à septembre, et de juin à octobre est la saison des ouragans dans les Caraïbes.La visibilité est généralement bonne dans les îles Bay, allant de 24 à 45 mètres. Cependant, il peut tomber plus bas pendant la saison des pluies. De plus, la température moyenne de l'eau est de 25 ° C / 78 ° F en hiver et de 29 ° C / 84 ° F en été.

Pluie et température

Cliquer pour agrandir

Température de l'eau

Cliquer pour agrandir

Où plonger

USD 2 374Par person for 7 nights for 2 divers
29 Commentaires
USD 981Par person for 7 nights for 2 divers
6 Commentaires
USD 951Par person for 7 nights for 2 divers
USD 2 171Par trip
* West End Wall, Roatan - Ce mur commence à merveille et s’améliore à mesure que vous vous éloignez. Les poissons couvrent le sommet et une variété d'éponges et de coraux s'accrochent sur le côté. Gardez un œil attentif sur les bancs de pélagiques, y compris les raies aigles.* Dolphin Den, Roatan - Ce site dispose d’un réseau de tunnels et de canyons qui vous emmène d’un côté à l’autre du récif. Vous parcourez un labyrinthe sous-marin éclairé par une lumière naturelle filtrant à travers des crevasses qui commence à 5 mètres / 15 pieds et sort à 12 mètres / 40 pieds. Rechercher des anguilles et des silversides. Le site de plongée tire son nom d'un incident tragique lorsque de nombreux dauphins ont été désorientés dans une grotte et ont péri.* El Aguila, Roatan - Les plongeurs sur épaves apprécieront de visiter El Aquila, un cargo situé à l'arrière d'un navire cargo de 64 mètres de haut, servant de récif artificiel. Il repose à 30 mètres sur un fond sableux, rempli d'anguilles de jardin. Préparé pour les plongeurs avant le naufrage, il est facile et amusant d'explorer les compartiments ouverts du navire tout en cherchant des poissons et des anguilles morales.* Black Hills, Utila - Situé à l'extrémité sud-est de l'île, Black Hills est un mont sous-marin qui commence à environ 10 mètres / 35 pieds et chute à 50 mètres / 165 pieds d'un côté dans une tranchée. Vous y verrez des milliers de poissons tropicaux aux couleurs vives, mais également des barracudas, des carangs à oeil de cheval et des vivaneaux à queue jaune.* Halliburton, Utila - Le Halliburton est un navire d’approvisionnement de 30 mètres de long qui a été coulé comme un récif artificiel en 1998. L’épave repose dans 30 mètres d’eau et se trouve debout, avec le pont à 20 mètres / 70 pieds et le pont à 18 mètres / 60 pieds. La vie marine varie d’une crevette cachée dans les fissures à de grands bancs de poissons entourant le pont.* Blackish Point, Utila - Le récif est constitué de roches volcaniques noires et de coraux mous. Commençant à 9 mètres / 30 pieds et descendant progressivement jusqu'à 24 mètres, vous rencontrerez de superbes surplombs et crevasses abritant poissons-lions, murènes et énormes homards épineux. Vous pouvez même espionner un gros poisson perroquet de minuit.

À voir

Si vous souhaitez repérer un requin-baleine, cela peut être fait toute l'année, mais la meilleure chance est au large de la côte nord d'Utila, de mars à mai, puis d'août à octobre.Il y a plus de 300 espèces de poissons identifiées dans les eaux honduriennes. Les plongeurs voient fréquemment des dauphins, des mérous, des raies, des barracudas, des poissons-anges, des poissons papillons, des grognements, des poissons perroquets, des vivaneaux à queue jaune, des carpes, des poulpes, des homards, des crabes et des murènes. On voit parfois des requins de toutes formes et tailles sur les récifs, et les tortues de mer restent dans les bas-fonds.

Calendrier

Pour faciliter la lecture du tableau, passer en affichage paysage.

Plus forte probabilitéPossibilité d'observation

Pays

Des eaux magnifiques abondent au Honduras, de la mer aux rivières en passant par les cascades. En raison de l'abondance de l'eau et du sol riche et fertile, de nombreux peuples autochtones ont vécu au Honduras, y compris les Mayas. Finalement, le pays a été colonisé par les Espagnols, mais le Honduras jouit de son indépendance depuis 1838. En tant que tel, il a eu des centaines d'années pour se développer en tant que nation. Aujourd'hui, il existe un mélange de cultures qui mène à une cuisine délicieuse et unique.Si le Honduras a connu son lot de difficultés, le tourisme s'est développé, notamment les voyages de plongée.

À voir et à faire aussi

Outre les plages et les îlots de jade, le Honduras possède un intérieur vaste et intéressant. Les structures restent des temps anciens, mûres pour l'exploration. Promenez-vous dans des villes comme Tegucigalpa pour avoir une bonne idée de la vie des habitants. Puis dirigez-vous vers les musées et les parcs.Sur Roatan, plusieurs circuits en tyrolienne sont réputés être parmi les meilleurs au monde. Vous pouvez également explorer l'île à cheval ou visiter la ferme aux iguanes d'Arch ou le jardin aux papillons. À Utila, vous pourrez pratiquer une variété d’activités nautiques autres que la plongée sous-marine - kayak, wakeboard, kitesurf, planche à voile, bodyboard, etc.

Comment y aller

Voler au Honduras est assez facile. Le plus grand aéroport du pays est l'aéroport Ramon Villeda Morales à San Pedro Sula. Quelques vols internationaux arrivent à l'aéroport international Juan Manuel Galvez sur Roatan, mais la plupart des vols transitent par le Honduras ou d'autres pays d'Amérique centrale avant de se connecter à Roatan ou à Utila. Voyager dans et autour du pays est également peu coûteux, surtout si vous choisissez de prendre les transports en commun. Vous pouvez accéder aux îles du continent par ferry.

UTC-06: 00

Fuseau horaire

HNL

Devise

+504

Indicatif téléphonique

120 V

Voltage électrique

UNE, 

B

Type de prise

TGU

Aéroport principal
Note – Voyager vers n'importe quelle destination peut être affecté par de mauvaises conditions, comprenant (sans y être limité), la sécurité, les conditions requises d'entrée et de sortie du pays, les conditions sanitaires, les lois locales et la culture, les catastrophes naturelles et le climat. Quelle que soit votre destination, consultez votre agent ou votre département de voyages local pour demander des conseils sur cette destination lorsque vous planifiez votre séjour, puis à nouveau peu de temps avant de partir.
x

Enregistrez ce favori 

Avec un compte PADI Travel, sauvegardez vos sites et opérateurs préférés pour les retrouver ensuite sur n'importe quel ordinateur ou appareil mobile.

Se connecter ou s'inscrire

AFFILIATE (ID: {$ main.user.affiliate.memberNumber $})
Dashboard Tools Reports Group trip quote
Link to this page Share this page
< Back

Contact us

Our scuba travel experts are available 24/7 to assist you in planning and booking a fantastic scuba diving vacation

Diving in Honduras

Tucked in the heart of Central America, Honduras is abundant in natural beauty and amazing dive sites. There are tropical rainforests to tour, rivers to raft and white sand beaches on which to lounge.

Diving in Honduras

Quick facts

The Bay Islands are nestled in the southwest corner of the Caribbean, about 48 kilometers/30 miles north of Honduras. The outstanding reef systems draw divers from all over the world, and the islands have become a veritable hive of dive activity. Part of the second largest barrier reef in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef, the islands of Roatan and Utila in particular feature vibrant coral, multi colored tropical fish, sponges as big as refrigerators and pelagic species. You might see manta rays, sea turtles and, especially from mid-February to April, whale sharks. The reefs here are more diverse than rainforests. Each island offers different experiences both above and below the water. The island of Roatan is a site of pilgrimage for divers who visit Central America. Mary’s Place is widely renowned as a favorite dive site of the area, with narrow canyons and abundant wildlife. Black coral and massive waving sea fans hide in the endless crevasses. Another excellent dive is the El Aguila Wreck, a cargo ship that was sunk for divers to explore. Corals bedeck the massive ship, hosting a slew of beautiful and colorful marine life. Utila is more laid back and is a well-known destination for backpackers looking to become dive professionals. Diving is cheap and easy to come by on the Caribbean coast of Honduras, and getting your certifications here is a great idea. Not only will you get certified in one of the most beautiful places in the world, but you won’t have to break the bank in the process!

Recommended training

Take the PADI Deep Diver and PADI Wreck Diver courses for diving on the deeper walls and wrecks of the Bay Islands. The PADI Enriched Air Diver course is also a good choice as enriched air nitrox is available in the islands. Technical diving is also available, so look into PADI TecRec courses, including the PADI Rebreather Diver course, if interested.

When to go

Diving is great all year and warm tropical weather is the norm. There’s little change in temperature from winter to summer – the average being 29°C/85°F. Humidity is usually high, especially from May to September, and June through October is hurricane season in the Caribbean. Visibility is generally good in the Bay Islands, ranging from 24-45 metres/80-150 feet. However, it can drop lower during the rainy season. Furthermore, the water averages 25°C/78°F in winter and 29°C/84°F in summer.

Rain and temperature

Click to expand

Water temperature

Click to expand

Where to dive

  • The Bay Islands

    Head to the Bay Islands off Honduras to experience encounters with whale sharks, dive at the world’s second largest barrier reef and spend quiet time on idyllic beaches.

USD 1,543Per person for 7 nights for 2 divers
USD 818Per person for 7 nights for 2 divers
USD 1,245Per person for 7 nights for 2 divers
USD 2,246Per trip
* West End Wall, Roatan – This wall starts great and gets even better as you drift along. Fish cover the top and a variety of sponges and corals cling to the side. Keep a sharp look out into the blue for schools of pelagics including eagle rays. * Dolphin Den, Roatan – This site has a network of tunnels and canyons that takes you from one side of the reef to the other. You wind through an underwater maze, illuminated with natural light filtering through crevices, which starts at 5 metres/15 feet and exits at 12 meters/40 feet. Look for eels and silversides. The dive site gets its name from a tragic incident when many dolphins became disoriented in a cave and perished. * El Aguila, Roatan – Wreck divers will enjoy visiting El Aquila, a 64-metre/210-foot cargo vessel purpose-sunk as an artificial reef. It rests at 30 metres/100 feet on a sandy bottom, which is full of garden eels. Prepared for divers before sinking, it’s easy and fun to explore the ship’s open compartments while looking for fish and moral eels. * Black Hills, Utila – Located on the southeast end of the island, the Black Hills is a seamount that starts at about 10 metres/35 feet and drops to 50 meters/165 feet on one side into a trench. You’ll see thousands of brightly covered tropical fish, but also barracuda, horse-eye jacks, and yellowtail snapper. * Halliburton, Utila – The Halliburton is a 30-metre/100-foot long supply vessel that was purpose-sunk as an artificial reef in 1998. The wreck lies in 30 metres/100 feet of water and sits upright, with the deck at 20 metres/70 feet and the bridge at 18 metres/60 feet. Marine life varies from shrimp hiding in the cracks to large schools of fish circling the bridge. * Blackish Point, Utila – The reef is made up of black volcanic rock and soft corals. Starting at 9 metres/30 feet and dropping gradually down to 24 metres/80 feet, you’ll encounter stunning overhangs and crevices that host lionfish, moray eels and huge spiny lobsters. You may even spy a big midnight parrotfish.

What to see

If you’re looking to spot a whale shark, it can be done all year, but the best chance is off the north shore of Utila from March to May and again from August to October. There are more than 300 identified fish species in Honduran waters. Divers frequently see dolphin, grouper, rays, barracuda, angelfish, butterfly fish, grunts, parrotfish, yellowtail snapper, horse-eye jack, octopus, lobsters, crabs and moray eels. Sharks of all shapes and sizes are sometimes seen on the reefs, and sea turtles stay in the shallows.

Calendar

For better readability of the table, pass into the landscape mode.

Most likely sightingsPossible sightings

Country

Gorgeous waters are found in abundance in Honduras, from the sea to rivers to waterfalls. Because of the abundance of water and rich, fertile soil, many indigenous people have lived in Honduras, including the Maya. Eventually, the land was colonized by the Spanish, but Honduras has had its independence since 1838. As such, it has had hundreds of years to develop as a nation. Today, there is a melting pot of cultures, leading to delicious and unique cuisine. While Honduras has had its share of hardship, tourism has been expanding, especially diving travel.

Other attractions

Aside from the beaches and jade islets, Honduras has a vast, interesting interior. Structures remain from ancient times, ripe for exploration. Walk around cities like Tegucigalpa to get a good idea of how locals live. Then head to the museums and parks. On Roatan, there are several zipline tours said to be some of the best in the world. You can also explore the island by horseback or visit Arch’s Iguana Farm or the Butterfly Garden. On Utila, you can enjoy a variety of other water activities other than scuba diving – kayaking, wakeboarding, kitesurfing, wind surfing, boogie boarding, etc.

Getting there

Flying into Honduras is fairly easy. The largest airport in the country is Ramon Villeda Morales Airport in San Pedro Sula. A few international flights arrive at Juan Manuel Galvez International Airport on Roatan, but most flights pass through mainland Honduras or other countries in Central America before connecting to Roatan or Utila. Traveling in and around the country is inexpensive, as well, especially if you choose to ride on the local transport. You can get to the islands from the mainland by ferry.

UTC-06:00

Time zone

HNL

Currency

+504

Calling code

120 V

Electric volt

A, 

B

Plug type

TGU

Main airport
Note - Travel to any destination may be adversely affected by conditions including (but not limited) to security, entry and exit requirements, health conditions, local laws and culture, natural disasters and climate. Regardless of your destination, check your local travel advisory board or department for travel advice about that location when planning your trip and again shortly before you leave.