< Zurück

Kontaktiere uns

Unsere Tauchexperten stehen Ihnen rund um die Uhr zur Verfügung, um Sie bei der Planung und Buchung eines fantastischen Tauchurlaubs zu unterstützen

Tauchen in Jardines de la Reina

Protected for decades, the Jardines de la Reina (Gardens of the Queen) offer unparalleled shark diving in the Caribbean and the third largest reef in the world.

Tauchen in Jardines de la Reina

Quick Facts

Das Tauchen in Jardines de la Reina ist auf vielen Ebenen spannend. Von umlaufenden Haien bis zu unberührten Riffen ist für jeden Taucher etwas dabei. Außerdem ist das Tauchen in den Gärten der Königin ziemlich einfach. Sie können fast kein warmes Wasser mit einem Durchschnitt von 26 ° C bis 29 ° C und erstaunliche Sichtweiten von 30 Metern (100 Fuß) oder mehr erwarten. Tauchgänge in der Umgebung werden im Allgemeinen in zwei Kategorien unterteilt: Hai-Tauchgänge und Riff-Tauchgänge.

Wie Sie vielleicht schon erraten haben, werden viele Taucher in den Jardines de la Reina von den fast garantierten Hai-Sichtungen angezogen. Es gibt einige Tauchplätze in der Umgebung, an denen Sie mehr als 30 Haie beobachten können, die auf einmal über und unter Ihnen kreisen. Häufige Hai-Arten sind große, 3 Meter lange karibische Riffhaie und Seidenhaie. Da diese Gewässer für längere Zeit geschützt sind, haben die Haie keine Angst vor Tauchern, die sich oft eher aus Neugier als aus Bosheit neigen. Sie sollten sie nicht fürchten. Lehnen Sie sich einfach zurück und genießen Sie diese spektakuläre Show. Beliebte Tauchplätze für Haie sind Pipín, Black Coral I und II und Five Seas.

Während die Haie vielleicht das sind, worüber alle reden, fallen die unberührten Riffe der Gegend in eine Sekunde. Ähnlich wie der Name vermuten lässt, beherbergen die Gärten der Königin einen gesunden Garten mit Weichkorallen, Schwämmen und Seefächern. Die Farben sind möglicherweise nicht so lebendig wie auf den Malediven oder im Roten Meer, aber die Größe und die Gesundheit des Riffsystems sind immer noch beeindruckend. Sie können diese malerischen Szenen an Tauchplätzen wie Farallón und Vicente erleben.

Aufgrund der tropischen Lage der Jardines de la Reina ist das ganze Jahr über Tauchen möglich. Obwohl das Tauchen zwischen den Jahreszeiten nur geringfügig variiert, ist die beste Zeit zum Tauchen normalerweise Dezember bis April. November bis April ist die Trockenzeit, während Mai bis Oktober die regnerische Jahreszeit ist. Darüber hinaus birgt der Oktober das höchste Risiko für Wirbelstürme, obwohl dieses Risiko immer noch gering ist. In jedem Fall sind die Gärten der Königin ein fantastisches Tauchziel, wenn Sie pelagische Action mit einer wunderschönen Unterwasserlandschaft suchen.

Wann reisen?

Regen und Temperatur

Zum Erweitern klicken

Wassertemperatur

Zum Erweitern klicken
6 Bewertungen
USD 3.350pro trip
5 Bewertungen
USD 3.550pro trip
6 Bewertungen
USD 2.049pro trip

Was es zu sehen gibt

Die Hauptattraktion in den Jardines de la Reina (Gärten der Königin) sind die Haie. Sie haben praktisch garantierte Sichtungen auf große karibische Riffhaie und Seidenhaie. Je nach Jahreszeit kann man auch Zitronen-, Hammer-, Ammen- und Schwarzspitzenhaie antreffen. Andere Meereslebewesen in der Umgebung sind massive Zackenbarsche, Unechte Karettschildkröten, Karettschildkröten, grüne Schildkröten, Königinnen, Schnapper, Goldfisch bis zu 400 Pfund und amerikanische Krokodile. Schwarzer Korallen, Hirschhornkorallen und Elkhornkorallen sind im gesamten Marinepark zu finden.

Kalender

Zur besseren Lesbarkeit der Tabelle bitte Querformat verwenden.

Wahrscheinlichste SichtungenMögliche Sichtungen

Bereich

Die Jardines de la Reina (Gärten der Königin auf Englisch) ist ein komplexes Ökosystem aus kleinen unberührten Inseln und Mangrovenwäldern. Dieses Archipel liegt 80 km südlich von Zentral-Kuba und erstreckt sich über 150 km mit einer Fläche von 2.170 km2. Damit sind die Gärten der Königin eines der größten Schutzgebiete der Karibik . Der Archipel verläuft parallel zur kubanischen Küste von Cayo Breton bis Cayos Mordazo und umfasst die Provinzen Camagüey und Ciego de Ávila. Aufgrund ihrer Lage und Größe ist der Jardines de la Reina nur mit dem Boot vom Hafen von Jucaro aus erreichbar.

Die Jardines de la Reina, die zuerst von Christopher Columbus entdeckt wurde, wurde zu Ehren ihrer Patronin benannt. Im Laufe der Jahre litt das Gebiet unter den Gefahren von übermäßigem Fischfang und Dünger aus der Sowjetzeit. Wie es der Zufall will, wurde der Archipel zu einem beliebten Angelort für Fidel Castro. Nach umfangreichen Untersuchungen der World Wildlife Federation wurde das Gebiet 1996 zum Naturschutzgebiet erklärt. Seitdem ist die Fischerei in der Region begrenzt und die örtliche Industrie im umliegenden Festland stark reguliert.

Heute haben die Jardines de la Reina einen signifikanten Anstieg der Fischbestände erlebt. Die Aktien haben sich um 30 Prozent verbessert. In den Gärten der Königin gibt es außerdem eine große Anzahl gefährdeter oder gefährdeter Arten, darunter 6 der 10 ansässigen Haiarten. Um die sich verbessernde Qualität dieses Riffs aufrechtzuerhalten, können sich jedes Jahr nur 500 glückliche Taucher diesem gesunden Lebensraum hingeben. Wirst du einer von ihnen sein?

Andere Sehenswürdigkeiten

Da die Jardines de la Reina nur mit dem Tauchsafari erreichbar sind, genießen Sie ein strukturierteres Ausflugserlebnis. Eine der beliebtesten Aktivitäten der Menschen ist das Schnorcheln mit Krokodilen. Während Ihrer Oberflächenintervalle in den Mangroven begegnen Sie möglicherweise einem dieser mächtigen Bestien. Wenn der Führer zustimmt, können Sie langsam ins Wasser schlüpfen und das Krokodil in seinem natürlichen Lebensraum beobachten. Vergiss deine Kamera nicht!Weitere Ausflüge im Nationalpark umfassen das Sonnenbaden an unberührten Stränden und die Erkundung dichter Mangroven und die Beobachtung faszinierender lokaler Arten. In den Gärten der Königin wird es nie langweilig.

Anreise

Die Jardines de la Reina sind nur mit dem Boot von der kleinen Hafenstadt Jucaro in der Provinz Ciego de Ávila auf Kuba aus erreichbar. Abhängig von den Wetterbedingungen kann die Bootsfahrt zweieinhalb bis fünf Stunden dauern.

Momentan gibt es nur eine Firma, die Tauchreisen in den Gärten der Königin durchführt. Um in der Umgebung zu tauchen, müssen Sie sich auf einem ihrer fünf Tauchsafaris (Avalon I, Avalon II, Halcón, La Reina und Georgiana) oder in ihrem schwimmenden Hotel namens Tortuga anmelden. Jede dieser Optionen bedient den gleichen Bereich, was bedeutet, dass das Tauchen unabhängig von Ihrer Wahl gleich ist. Die meisten Tauchplätze befinden sich 20 Minuten mit dem Boot von Ihrer Unterkunft in den Jardines de la Reina entfernt.

UTC-05: 00

Zeitzone

CUP

Währung

+53

Vorwahl

110 V / 220 V

Elektrische Spannung

EIN, 

B, 

C, 

L

Steckdosentyp

Spanisch; Kastilisch

Englisch

Sprachen

HAV

Hauptflughafen
Hinweis - Reisen zu einem beliebigen Ziel, können unter anderem durch Bedingungen wie Sicherheit, Ein- und Ausreisebedingungen, Gesundheitsbedingungen, lokale Gesetze und Kultur, Naturkatastrophen und Klima nachteilig beeinflusst werden. Unabhängig vom Reiseziel, sollte man sich bei der Reiseplanung, sowie kurz vor der Abreise, bei einer örtlichen Reiseberatung nach Reisehinweisen zu diesem Ort erkundigen.
x

Diesen Favoriten speichern

Mit einem PADI Travel-Konto kannst du Tauchcenter als Favoriten speichern, um sie später von jedem Gerät oder Computer aus wiederzufinden

Einloggen oder Registrieren

AFFILIATE (ID: {$ main.user.affiliate.memberNumber $})
Dashboard Tools Reports Group trip quote
Link to this page Share this page
< Back

Contact us

Our scuba travel experts are available 24/7 to assist you in planning and booking a fantastic scuba diving vacation

Diving in Jardines de la Reina

With the third largest reef in the world, guaranteed shark sightings and mighty crocodiles, the Jardines de la Reina (Gardens of the Queen) in Cuba is a destination seemingly created for divers.

Diving in Jardines de la Reina

Quick facts

Diving in Jardines de la Reina is exciting on many levels. From circling sharks to pristine reefs, there’s a bit of something for every type of diver. In addition, diving in the Gardens of the Queen is pretty easy. You can expect almost no current, warm water averaging from 79 °F (26 °C) to 84 °F (29 °C), and amazing visibility of 100 feet (30 meters) or more. Dives in the area are generally split into two categories: shark dives and reef dives.

As you may have already guessed, many of the divers in the Jardines de la Reina are attracted by the nearly guaranteed shark sightings. There are some dive sites in the area where you will enjoy more than 30 sharks circling above and below you at one time. Common shark species include large, 10-foot (3-meter) Caribbean reef sharks and silky sharks. Because these waters have been protected for a length of time, the sharks are not afraid of divers, often approaching out of curiosity rather than malice. You should not fear them. Simply sit back and enjoy this spectacular show. Popular shark dive sites include Pipín, Black Coral I and II, and Five Seas.

While the sharks might be what everyone is talking about, the area’s pristine reefs fall into a close second. Much like the name suggests, the Gardens of the Queen host a healthy garden of soft corals, sponges and sea fans. The colors may not be as vibrant as you’ll find in the Maldives or the Red Sea, but the size and health of the reef system is still impressive. You can take in these picturesque scenes at dive sites like Farallón and Vicente.

Because of the tropical location of the Jardines de la Reina, diving is possible throughout the year. Although the diving varies only slightly between seasons, the best time to dive is technically December to April. November to April is the dry season, while May to October is the rainy time of year. Furthermore, October carries the highest risk of hurricanes, although this risk is still minimal. At any rate, the Gardens of the Queen are a fantastic dive destination if you are seeking guaranteed pelagic action with gorgeous underwater scenery.

When to go

Rain and temperature

Click to expand

Water temperature

Click to expand
USD 3,040Per trip
USD 1,950Per trip
USD 2,310Per trip

What to see

The main attraction in the Jardines de la Reina (Gardens of the Queen) are the sharks. You’re practically guaranteed sightings of large Caribbean reef sharks and silky sharks. It’s also possible to encounter lemon, hammerhead, nurse and blacktip sharks depending on the time of year. Other marine life species in the area include massive groupers, loggerhead turtles, hawksbill turtles, green turtles, queen conchs, snappers, jewfish up to 400 pounds and American crocodiles. Black corals, staghorn corals and elkhorn corals are also found throughout the marine park.

Calendar

For better readability of the table, pass into the landscape mode.

Most likely sightingsPossible sightings

Area

The Jardines de la Reina (Gardens of the Queen in English) is a complex ecosystem of small virgin islands and mangrove forests. This archipelago is located 50 miles (80km) off southern, central Cuba and extends for 93 miles (150 km) with an area of 840 square miles (2,170 km2), making the Gardens of the Queen one of the largest protected areas in the Caribbean. The archipelago runs parallel to the Cuban coast from Cayo Breton to Cayos Mordazo and spans both the Camagüey and Ciego de Ávila provinces. Because of its location and size, the Jardines de la Reina is only accessible by boat from the port of Jucaro.

First discovered by Christopher Columbus, the Jardines de la Reina was named in honor of his patron queen. Throughout the years, the area suffered the perils of over fishing and Soviet-era fertilizers. As luck would have it, the archipelago became a favorite fishing haunt of Fidel Castro’s. After significant research by the World Wildlife Federation, the area was declared a protected national park in 1996. Since then, fishing in the area has been limited and local industry in the surrounding mainland has been highly regulated.

Today, the Jardines de la Reina has seen a significant increase in fish population. Stocks have improved by 30 per cent. Furthermore, the Gardens of the Queen are home to a huge number of endangered or vulnerable species, including 6 of the 10 resident shark species. In order to maintain the improving quality of this reef, only 500 lucky divers get to indulge in this healthy habitat each year. Will you be one of them?

Other attractions

Because the Jardines de la Reina are only accessible by liveaboard, you will enjoy a more structured excursion experience. One of the crowd favorite activities is snorkelling with crocodiles. During your surface intervals in the mangroves, you might come across one of these mighty beasts. If the guide consents, you’ll be able to slowly slip into the water and observe the crocodile in its natural habitat. Don’t forget your camera! Other excursions in the national park include sunbathing on pristine beaches and exploring dense mangroves while observing fascinating local species. There’s never a dull moment in the Gardens of the Queen.

Getting there

The Jardines de la Reina is accessible by boat only from the small port town of Jucaro in the Ciego de Ávila province of Cuba. Depending on the weather conditions, the boat ride can take between two and a half and five hours.

Currently, there is only one company operating dive trips in the Gardens of the Queen. To dive in the area, you’ll need to book yourself on one of their five liveaboards (the Avalon I, Avalon II, Halcón, La Reina and Georgiana) or their floating hotel called Tortuga. Each of these options service the same area, meaning the diving is the same no matter which you choose. Most dive sites will be within a 20 minute boat ride of your accommodation in the Jardines de la Reina.

UTC-05:00

Time zone

CUP

Currency

+53

Calling code

110 V / 220 V

Electric volt

A, 

B, 

C, 

L

Plug type

Spanish; Castilian

English

Languages

HAV

Main airport
Note - Travel to any destination may be adversely affected by conditions including (but not limited) to security, entry and exit requirements, health conditions, local laws and culture, natural disasters and climate. Regardless of your destination, check your local travel advisory board or department for travel advice about that location when planning your trip and again shortly before you leave.